Philadelphia, PA (September 27, 2004) – Anne d’Harnoncourt, Director and CEO of the Philadelphia Museum of Art, today announced the appointment of Pierre Terjanian to the new position of Associate Curator of Arms and Armor. Effective immediately, Mr. Terjanian will oversee the impressive Carl Otto Kretzschmar von Kienbusch Collection, which includes over one thousand outstanding examples of late Medieval and Renaissance European arms and armor and related objects.
Mr. Terjanian came to the Museum in 1997 as an Andrew W. Mellon Curatorial Fellow of Arms and Armor, and he served as Adjunct Associate Curator in Arms and Armor from 2000 to 2002. He will report to Dean Walker, The Henry P. McIlhenny Senior Curator of European Decorative Arts and Sculpture.
"Today, it is impossible to imagine the Philadelphia Museum of Art without the legacy of Carl Otto Kretzschmar von Kienbusch," said Miss d’Harnoncourt. "Dominating the grand central galleries on the second floor, the collection reveals superb collaboration between artisans and craftsmen that spans many centuries and European countries."
"We are very pleased to welcome Pierre back to the Museum. He is an impressive young scholar. His knowledge of and experience with this collection make him the ideal choice for this position," said Dean Walker. "We count on his informed enthusiasm to bring new vigor to the Kienbusch Collection, which ranks among the most popular attractions at the Museum."
In his previous roles, Mr. Terjanian oversaw a conservation project that treated objects in the collection while illuminating the restoration and research process for Museum visitors. He also renovated several of the armor galleries, and was instrumental in the creation of an audio guide to the collection. Among his future projects is the further refurbishing of the galleries, and a publication that will focus on selected masterpieces from the Kienbusch Collection.
Mr. Terjanian commented: "The Philadelphia Museum of Art houses one of the finest collections of arms and armor outside of Europe, showcasing exceptional works by armorers, goldsmiths, painters, furniture makers, and various other artists customarily involved in the design and crafting of fine defensive and offensive arms. The Kienbusch galleries display many exciting and unique objects, from which everyone can learn a great deal about Renaissance Europe and its constant fascination with magnificence and style. I am eager to begin work on enhancing the impact of the Museum’s already remarkable holdings of arms and armor."
A native of Strasbourg, France, Mr. Terjanian obtained a masters degree in law from Université Paris II Panthéon-Assas, a masters of science in management from HEC, Jouy-en-Josas, and a doctoral degree in history from Université de Metz, Faculté de Lettres et Sciences Humaines. Mr. Terjanian’s doctoral thesis was The Manufacture of Armor in Strasbourg in the Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries. His publications include Armor made in Basel: A fifteenth-century sallet by Hans Blarer the Younger in Metropolitan Museum Journal (2001) and Markets and Traffic of Weapons in the Confessional Era: Notes on Strasbourg’s Trade of Munitions of War , 1520-1684 in Revue d’Alsace (1999).
About the Carl Otto Kretzschmar von Kienbusch Collection
The Carl Otto Kretzschmar von Kienbusch Collection at the Philadelphia Museum of Art has inspired countless numbers of visitors since it opened to the public in October 1977. Installed in the center of the Museum building on the second floor at the top of the Great Stair Hall, the collection also provides a spectacular bridge between the Museum’s Medieval and Renaissance galleries.
A lifelong New Yorker, Mr. Carl Otto Kretzschmar von Kienbusch (1884-1976) was a successful businessman who collected armor from about 1914 until his death in 1976 . The Museum’s relationship with the famous collector and connoisseur began in the late 1940s, when R. Sturgis Ingersoll, former president of the Museum, visited Mr. von Kienbusch’s residence on East 74th Street in New York City, which at the time was filled with his burgeoning collection.
In 1974, Mr. von Kienbusch approved the loan of 165 pieces to create a display in the Museum. Upon his death in 1977, the entire collection with an important library and archive was bequeathed to the Museum where it was installed, as Mr. von Kienbusch had requested, in a series of handsome galleries funded by the City of Philadelphia and arranged in the style of a traditional European armory.