Return to Previous Page


Ruth and Raymond G. Perelman Building Timeline

1926-27
Building is constructed, Zantzinger, Borie and Medary, architects, and Lee Lawrie, decorative sculptor

1927
Building opens as headquarters for the Fidelity Mutual Life Insurance Co.


1982-83
Building is restored by John Milner Associates and David Beck Architects for the Binswanger Company. It is occupied by the Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company, which eventually acquires it.

1999
Philadelphia Museum of Art and Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company jointly announce Museum’s commitment to acquire company’s historic flagship building.

June 15, 2000
Museum formally names the Ruth and Raymond G. Perelman Building in a dedication ceremony including city and state officials.

December 19, 2000
Museum launches its 125th Anniversary Campaign to raise $200 million (later delivering $240 million) with its 2001 Fund. Perelman Building renovation and expansion are established as a key priority of campaign.

January 30, 2002
Museum announces selection of Gluckman Mayner Architects to design the renovation and expansion of the building.

2004
With all code-related variances and approvals granted by the City of Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, the Fairmount Park Commission, Philadelphia Art and Historical Commissions and the Greater Philadelphia Preservation Alliance approve final plans for the building.

August 2004
L. F. Driscoll Co., Construction Manager, begins Phase I construction on the installation of temporary utilities, separation of the Annex from the Fairmount and Pennsylvania building wings and interior non-structural demolition.


October 26, 2004
Groundbreaking celebration and a Museum salute to leadership donors.

January 2005
Excavation begins in rear courtyard to prepare for the Gluckman-designed 59,000 square foot addition.

September 2005
Erection of structural steel begins.

October 2005
Topping off ceremony.

Fall 2006
Target completion date projected for all construction.

Winter 2006-07
Museum collections and staff to occupy and install newly finished spaces.

September 15, 2007
The Ruth and Raymond G. Perelman Building to open to public.

The Philadelphia Museum of Art is Philadelphia's art museum. We are a landmark building. A world-renowned collection. A place that welcomes everyone. We bring the arts to life, inspiring visitors—through scholarly study and creative play—to discover the spirit of imagination that lies in everyone. We connect people with the arts in rich and varied ways, making the experience of the Museum surprising, lively, and always memorable. We are committed to inviting visitors to see the world—and themselves—anew through the beauty and expressive power of the arts.

For additional information, contact the Communications Department of the Philadelphia Museum of Art phone at 215-684-7860, by fax at 215-235-0050, or by e-mail at pressroom@philamuseum.org. The Philadelphia Museum of Art is located on the Benjamin Franklin Parkway at 26th Street. For general information, call (215) 763-8100.

Return to Previous Page