Return to Previous Page

September 10th, 2008
Museum Annouces Committee to Search for a Successor to Late Director Anne d'Harnoncourt

Gerry Lenfest, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Philadelphia Museum of Art, announced today the formation of the search committee charged with selecting a successor to Anne d’Harnoncourt, the late George D. Widener Director and Chief Executive Officer, who died June 1, 2008. The committee is headed by co-chairs Martha H. Morris and Keith L. Sachs, both Trustees of the Philadelphia Museum of Art, who were named earlier, and also includes Barbara B. Aronson, Julian A. Brodsky, John G. Drosdick, David W. Haas, Victoria McNeil Le Vine, and Mary Patterson McPherson. Each member is a Trustee of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

A search firm to assist in the process will be named at a later date.

The Philadelphia Museum of Art is among the largest museums in the United States, with a collection of more than 227,000 works of art and more than 200 galleries presenting painting, sculpture, works on paper, photography, decorative arts, textiles, and architectural settings from Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the United States. Its facilities include its landmark Main Building on the Benjamin Franklin Parkway, the Perelman Building, located nearby on Pennsylvania Avenue, the Rodin Museum on the 2200 block of the Benjamin Franklin Parkway, and two 18th-century houses in Fairmount Park, Mount Pleasant and Cedar Grove. The Museum offers a wide variety of activities for public audiences, including special exhibitions, programs for children and families, lectures, concerts and films.

For additional information, contact the Communications Department of the Philadelphia Museum of Art phone at 215-684-7860, by fax at 215-235-0050, or by e-mail at The Philadelphia Museum of Art is located on the Benjamin Franklin Parkway at 26th Street. For general information, call (215) 763-8100.

Return to Previous Page