Pardon our dust while we update this corner of the website.

Animal Symbols of the Kings of the Twelve Heavens of the Vaimanika Gods
Page from a manuscript of the Sangrahanisutra

Artist/maker unknown, Indian

Made in Gujarat, India, Asia
or Rajasthan, India, Asia


Opaque watercolor and ink on paper

Sheet: 4 3/8 × 10 1/4 inches (11.1 × 26 cm)

Curatorial Department:
South Asian Art

Object Location:

Currently not on view

Accession Number:

Credit Line:
Purchased with the Francis T. S. Darley Fund, 1935

Social Tags

12 heavens [x]   animals [x]   antelope [x]   boar [x]   bull [x]   cosmology [x]   elephants [x]   gazelle [x]   goat [x]   gods [x]   india [x]   indian art [x]   kings [x]   paper [x]   pigs [x]   ram [x]   snake [x]   watercolor [x]  

[Add Your Own Tags]

The complex Jain cosmology expounded in the Sangrahanisutra speaks of four classes of gods, the highest of which are called Vaimanika (flying) because they travel in airborne chariots. Each of the twelve Vaimanika gods has a complete heaven, ruled over by a king. Each king is represented by a different animal, as depicted and named in this painting. They are (left to right, top to bottom): antelope, water buffalo, boar, elephant-lion, ram, swimming spotted animal, horse, elephant, snake, rhinoceros, bull, and gazelle.